The Outer London Fund

Hounslow to Bid For Its Share

Related Links

Sign up for our free newsletter

Comment on this story on the

The Outer London Fund, launched by the Mayor of London on 13 June 2011, is a three-year initiative dedicated to strengthening the vibrancy and growth of high streets and their environs. At the centre of the initiative is funding of up to £50 million, supported by the offer of advice that can be targeted at improving the character, quality and economic vitality of selected high street places.

The Mayor of London, Boris Johnson, said: ‘This fund is a vital shot in the arm for our town centres and just the help needed to get new projects off the ground that wouldn’t otherwise happen. I am delighted that after months of hard negotiations we have secured a significant pot of money to help projects really motor and we now have the means to nurture developments, increase work and leisure opportunities and make futures bright. It is vital we address the historic neglect of the outer boroughs that preceded this mayoralty and this is one of the ways we can start delivering growth.

Outer London Fund support will be allocated in two rounds; the first, with £10 million to allocate, will provide an immediate opportunity to access funds and advice for clusters of readily deliverable projects. These should make a visible, if in some cases temporary, contribution to the vibrancy and self-confidence of high street places in the near future. The second round, with the remaining £40 million, will continue the package of support, adding more places and shifting the balance towards more substantial physical projects that can deliver lasting improvement.

Mary Macleod, MP for Brentford and Isleworth commented “The announcement from the Mayor’s office of a fund to benefit Outer London’s key community hubs is to be welcomed by all those living locally.  I sincerely hope that Hounslow Council will consider applying for a grant to fund regeneration of key local urban centres, including Brentford High Street and Hounslow Town Centre.”

The criteria for Round One were announced on the 14th June with applications required by midday on 18 July 2011. Application details for Round Two are expected to be announced on 19 July 2011, with a deadline for submission in early September 2011.

The Outer London Commission have defined Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Bexley, Brent, Bromley, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Kingston, Merton, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond, Sutton and Waltham Forest as outer London Boroughs.

Full details can be read online.

June 23, 2011

Bookmark and Share