A Cheat's Guide to Elections in Brentford

A quick survey of what's at stake locally


The main political parties have a local website listed in our directory and all councillors for Brentford, Isleworth and Syon have their own entry, as well as our MP and any candidates.

These are all linked to in our services directory which also has contact details and any websites or blogs.

Details of all Hounslow's councillors, including surgery and contact information can be found on the council website.

General Election Hustings

Sign up for our free newsletter

Comment on this story on the

The bookies currently have Tory candidate Mary Macleod as an odds-on favourite with Liberal Democrat Andrew Dakers and sitting MP Ann Keen neck and neck for second place.

Candidate Party
Aamir Javed Bhatti The Christian Party
Andrew Dakers Liberal Democrats
Ann Keen Labour
David Cunningham English Democrats
Evangeline Pillai Christian Peoples Alliance
Jason Hargreaves UKIP
John Hunt Green Party
Mary Macleod Conservative
Paul Winnett
British National Party
Teresa Vanneck-Surplice Independent

Hounslow Borough - Local Election

The Conservatives currently control the Council in a coalition with the Isleworth Community Group. Nine of their seats are from the Chiswick wards and they are expected to retain them so the future make up of the Council is likely to be determined elsewhere in the borough. The Conservatives need to win another 7 seats to gain overall control whilst Labour needs to gain 8 to win back the Council.

Current Composition of Council
Party No. of Seats
Liberal Democrat

Local Wards (Current councillors in bold)


Candidate Party
Tracey BLEAKLEY Conservative
Joseph BOURKE Liberal Democrat
Ruth CADBURY Labour
Mel COLLINS Labour
Andrew DAKERS Liberal Democrat
Nicola DYKES Conservative
John FIRKINS Green
Colin FORD Conservative
Matt HARMER Labour
Mona NAQVI Liberal Democrat


Candidate Party
Caroline ANDREWS Independent Community
John BRADLEY Green
Stephen CURRAN Labour
Theo DENNISON Labour
Jason ELLAR Labour
Shirley FISHER Independent Community
Jon HARDY Independent Community
John HUNT Green
Brenda POOLEY Conservative
Diane SCOTT Green
Helen STANNILAND Conservative
Victoria THOMAS Conservative

If you have any comments, please email or post on the forum

May 6, 2010

Bookmark and Share