Unsung heroes to be recognized at awards ceremony

Individuals and businesses to be celebrated by Chamber of Commerce

Nominations for the Investors in Brentford award were announced this week.

Free web space for local groups

Valuable resource for community groups

Farmers Market dates announced

The awards, which were first launched in 2001 to recognise the people, organisations and businesses that have contributed to the town's wellbeing and is a way of recognising the town's unsung heroes.

The awards are funded by the Brentford Chamber of Commerce. Nominees will get a free dinner at the awards which will be held on November 11 at 7.30pm at St Paul's Community Centre, as well as a plaque.

The awards will be judged by the Chamber of Commerce's president, two vice presidents and a past president, the three local ward councillors Ruth Cadbury, Patrick Edwards and Luke Kirton, MP Ann Keen, Rev Derek Simpson of St Pauls and Tom Riggs from Glaxosmithkline.

Where there is a conflict of interest judges will abstain from voting.

The nominations are as follows: Large Business Award Glaxosmithkline - for donating to local initiatives, health programmes and supporting the Brentford Chamber of Commerce; St George Plc - for making contributions to a number of town centre development projects; Small Business Award Brian Sawyer of Colorite Ltd - for fundraising, chamber of commerce work and donating to Soul in the City'; Raj Sarwani of BA Williams Chemists - for services to the elderly including a home delivery service; Andrew Brown of Halfacre Dentistry for his work in the Butts Practice; Community Organisation category Sara Ward of Brentford Free Church - for being the driving force behind the Soul in the City' initiative; Brentford Football in the Community - for services to youth sport; St Faith's Players - for long standing services to amateur theatre; Michael Ryder of the Musical Museum - for making Brentford a worthwhile place and services to amusement and education; Simon Curtis - for his help in co-ordinating Soul in the City; Young Achievers Award Molly Mitchell of St Paul's Primary School - for overcoming boundaries to her education; Amy Davies Head girl of the Green School for services to the school; Hannah Branch, 13, - for services to Guides and brownies and Soul in the City; the Youth Team at the Ealing Road Baptist Church - for services to Soul in the City; Lifetime Achievement Award Eric Dicker of 6th Brentford Air Scouts - for 40 years service to the troop; Ron Dawson of the Genesis Project - for services to the Family Contact Centre, Genesis Project and St Faith's Players; Brian Sawyer (see above); Jennifer Corbin of Heidelberg Graphic Equipment Ltd - for long service to local business; Janet McNamara Hounslow's Heritage Guide - for services to preserving Brentford's history and other community work; Joan Catteral - for services to Brentford Community Resource Centre.

1 Nov 2004

Become a member of BrentfordTW8.com - it's free

Comment on this story on the